Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Arduino Boe Bot Kit problem with reverse — Parallax Forums

Arduino Boe Bot Kit problem with reverse

Cubuntu28Cubuntu28 Posts: 7
edited 2012-04-12 16:21 in Robotics
Hi all, I am new to robotics, and I am having a slight issue with Boe Bot Kit/Arduino. I have "centered the servos" and have no issue getting the bot to move forward. (but) I cannot get the Bot to go backwards only the right servo goes in reverse while the left stays still.

Forward Sketch http://learn.parallax.com/node/220

the reverse sketch is the same as above except swtiching

// Full speed reverse servo
Left.writeMicroseconds(1300); // Left wheel clockwise servo
Right.writeMicroseconds(1700); // Right wheel counterclockwise
delay(10000); // ...for 10 secondsAny advice will be appreciated!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-04-12 15:01
    The servos on the BoeBot go in one direction when the pulse width of the servo control pulse is shorter than 1.5ms (or 1500us) and the other direction when the servo control pulse is longer than 1.5ms. The further away the control pulse is from the stopped position (1.5ms), the faster the servo will go up to the limits of about 0.5ms to 2.5ms.

Keep in mind that the servos need to see the pulse repeated about every 20ms or they'll stop. Your little program fragment sends just one pulse. If you want the servos to continue moving, you need to put the .writeMicroseconds call into a loop with a 20ms pause also in the loop. The number of times in the loop defines how long the servos will move. 50 times through a for statement will come to about one second.
  • GordonMcCombGordonMcComb Posts: 3,366
    edited 2012-04-12 15:26
    As this isn't code from the Boe-Shield Bot page, first try the example exactly as printed. That would be more useful as a reference because what you posted is only a fragment and not possible to know what else is in your sketch that could be affecting things.