Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax 2x16 Serial LCD (27977) Backlit, w/ Spkr - Example Prop snd SPIN code?? — Parallax Forums

Parallax 2x16 Serial LCD (27977) Backlit, w/ Spkr - Example Prop snd SPIN code??

tdg8934tdg8934 Posts: 126
edited 2012-04-12 23:21 in Propeller 1
I bought one of these from Radio Shack a week or so back and it says that version F has a speaker for music but there is no example code for the Propeller (nor BS2).

I had a few of these in an earlier version when I programmed the SX chip sometime back but wanted to hear the sound capability in this new one for the Propeller.

Why is the released datasheet incomplete?

Has anyone written any example code for the music tones? I'm a bit surprised no one has brought this up yet - from what I searched on in the forum posts.

I'm just learning the Propeller and would like somewhere's to start as I know nothing about music either.

Thanks!

Comments

• RDL2004RDL2004 Posts: 2,554
    edited 2012-04-11 17:46
    Version 3.0 of the documentation includes the commands for playing musical notes.

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/audiovis/27976-7-9-ParallaxSerialLCD-v3.0.pdf

and the old kickstarts page has some basic code examples.

http://sites.google.com/site/parallaxinretailstores/home/2x16-serial-lcd-backlit
  • tdg8934tdg8934 Posts: 126
    edited 2012-04-12 01:58
    RDL2004,

I didn't know about the Kickstart site. Thanks. However, version 3 nor the Kickstart site has example code on how it is implemented to let's say play a tune in either the BS2 or Propeller. Commands and documentation are nice about the notes but not complete if the user isn't shown HOW they are supposed to be implemented like they barely do for the basic LCD commands for text.