Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
L3G4200D Gyroscope and EEPROM — Parallax Forums

L3G4200D Gyroscope and EEPROM

MoZak18MoZak18 Posts: 26
edited 2012-04-05 11:42 in Accessories
Hello,

I am trying to run the L3G4200D gyroscope's example code off the Parallax site from EEPROM (24LC256), but I am having a problem. Reading from RAM is fine, but when I power it up to read the code off the EEPROM, the values for all 3 axes start out at some non zero values. I think I need to do something along the lines of flushing the registers, but I am not a seasoned programmer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

L3G4200D_Example_code.spin

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2012-04-04 12:27
    "the values for ... non zero values"

Is that a problem?

Since the gyroscope is connected to I/O pins 24 & 25, I can't see why running the program from RAM vs copying it from EEPROM to RAM, then running it would make any difference other than a longer time from power on to first use of the gyroscope. Unless you need for the values for the 3 axes to start off at zero for some reason, I can't see why you'd need to do something special to the registers.

How about throwing away the first or first few readings?
  • MoZak18MoZak18 Posts: 26
    edited 2012-04-04 12:43
    @Mike Green