Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
EDDIE Robot Not Moving Forward — Parallax Forums

EDDIE Robot Not Moving Forward

WhyNotScienceWhyNotScience Posts: 10
edited 2012-09-25 14:00 in Robotics
Hi guys,
I just finished building the eddie platform and currently have it running using the Xbox controller. The setup is using RDS4, Windows 7 and I have all of the proper firmware, propellar software and Microsoft packages installed. The robot turns and backs up perfectly fine, however, when the command is given to go forward the robot just continuously goes in circles. I have tested it in a room that was wide open and fairly large. There was nothing in front of the robot for over 6 feet, yet it only pivots and turns on one wheel or the other when told to move forward. As I stated earlier, it goes backward without any issue.

Could a sensor be malfunctioning or set too sensitive? I am still learning all the intricacies and am new to robotics so I really am unsure as to why the robot would be doing this. Has anyone else experienced this or know what I should do to correct the problem?

If further details are needed, just let me know.

Thanks,
Paul

Comments

• Matt GillilandMatt Gilliland Posts: 1,406
    edited 2012-04-03 07:10
    Hi WhyNotScience - Welcome to the Forums!

Sounds like it could be a mis-wired sensor (reversed plug maybe?). Maybe you could post some close-up pics of the wiring, and if possible a short demo video of what you're experiencing - then our Eddie Experts here on the Forums will have something to go by?
    -MattG
  • WhyNotScienceWhyNotScience Posts: 10
    edited 2012-04-03 11:58
    Hi Matt,

Thanks. I will try to post some pictures tonight when I get home. I will also try to get a video of the issue that I am experiencing.

Paul
    edited 2012-04-03 19:02
    DSCF0224.jpg
    DSCF0225.jpg
    DSCF0226.jpg

I hope that these pictures give enough detail and information. Let me know if there are any issues with them.
    Thanks,
    Paul