Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Cessna's and Gyros vs Accelerometers — Parallax Forums

Cessna's and Gyros vs Accelerometers

xanaduxanadu Posts: 3,347
edited 2012-03-29 20:13 in Robotics
I fly a small Cessna. As a student pilot I once asked a lot of silly questions. One was, how does the fuel stay in both wings evenly? Sometimes you go fly and 'orbit' something on the ground for an hour in the same direction. So the fuel should all be in the lower wing as it cross-feeds between them.

The answer was obvious, and that is when you're flying the airplane is pulling positive Gs. So when you bank, the horizontal component of lift which is like centrifugal force holds the fuel as if the airplane were still level. That may not be the best explanation, but you can loop an airplane with a cup of water and it will stay just like it was on the ground without spilling. In the back of my mind I had always imagined being stuck in really bad weather with zero vis. while flying, and losing multiple instruments. I always though hey, why not just hang something from the ceiling (like fuzzy dice on a rear view in a car) and use that as an indicator of your attitude? Well, that wouldn't work either, just like the fuel it wouldn't read. So to make a long story even longer, I learned everything I possibly could about how the attitude indicator works. The principle of rigidity in space. Gyroscopes. Neat stuff.

I've had one of these for years - http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/AccelerationTilt/tabid/172/CategoryID/47/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/585/Default.aspx but I never took it flying because it is not a gyroscope and I assumed that it wouldn't be able to tell me my attitude just like the water in the cup. However, I see people building a bunch of UAS autopilots with it. Am I missing something?