Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Program to measure wind speed — Parallax Forums

Program to measure wind speed

838838 Posts: 2
edited 2012-03-30 11:47 in BASIC Stamp
Hi All,

I’m new to PBASIC language, I would like to write a program to measure wind speed, do you have a basic program to measure wind speed using PBASIC language? Thank you!

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2012-03-20 18:40
    I would like to write a program to measure wind speed
    First you need to have a sensor to convert wind to a signal the stamp can read. If you do let us see the datasheet.
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,662
    edited 2012-03-20 21:18
    Hi 838,

Welcome to the forums!

You might find something useful at this URL. What anemometer do you have? Cup anemometers commonly have a reed switch that closes once or twice for every rotation of the cups, so the interface requires only a couple of resistors and a capacitor. The Stamp has to count the number of pulses that happen during a known interval of time.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2012-03-21 09:59
    It would be slick to make a solid state hot-wire anemometer. IF you have plenty of power, thermistors, ADCs and boatloads time to calibrate and temperature compensate.

Come to think of it, stick with Tracy's cup anemometer and reed switch approach! :)
  • 838838 Posts: 2
    edited 2012-03-27 16:21
    Hi All,

Thank you for your time!

I’m going to use the following tools to build a firmware to read wind speed.
    1. Model 7911 Anemometer from Davis Instruments (please review attached file for more details)
    2. Model Davis Vantage Pro2 (please review attached file for more details)
    3. Target: BASIC Stamp 2 {$STAMP BS2}
    4. Language: PBASIC 2.5 {$PBASIC 2.5}

My goal is to build a firmware to read wind speed using PBASIC 2.5, any advice (step by step instructions how to build this firmware or sample firmware) is greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

• Mike2545Mike2545 Posts: 433