Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Voting Circuit on a BS2 from photocell outputs — Parallax Forums

Voting Circuit on a BS2 from photocell outputs

TheForsytheTheForsythe Posts: 12
edited 2012-03-27 13:23 in BASIC Stamp
I'm pretty new to the basic stamp. I really need a hand with the creating a voting circuit on the basic stamp. There are 13 photocells that i will have hooked up with comparators on a separate bread board. The output (high or low) will be put into the basic stamp board. When any 10 or more of the 13 photocells are high, i need to get a high signal. When less than 10 of the photocells are high, i need to receive a low signal. If anyone can help me it would be greatly appreciated. Thank You!

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-03-20 17:06
    TheForsythe,

Welcome to the forum!

The way I would go about this is to read all of the inputs at once using the INS operator, and assign it to a word variable. Then mask off the three unused bits. Next, isolate each 4-bit nybble and use that as an argument to a GOSUB routine which looks up the one-bit count from a table in EEPROM. Do that four times, adding the result to the total, and you'll have your count.

The slower (but simpler) way to do it would be to take the variable to which INS was assigned, and check each bit one-by-one by shifting right and using the .BIT0 attribute to add to your count.

-Phil
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2012-03-21 09:22
    The Stamp's TTL pins work very well as comparators. Using them as input pins, a voltage below ~1.4V will read low and above 1.4V reads high.
    In lieu of building a comparator board, you could just use your photocells (phototransisitors are better) in a simple voltage divider arrangement. One series resistor (properly selected to yield working voltages) and one photocell/phototransistor per channel and you're finished. Leave the LM339s to fight another battle another day.