Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Urgent help with transistor use — Parallax Forums

Urgent help with transistor use

NB_NesquikNB_Nesquik Posts: 35
edited 2012-03-19 20:39 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am new to usung microcontrollers and i have a project i need help with. I am using a BASIC Stamp Homework Board that came in my Whats a Microcontroller Activity Kit. I am also using a piezo speaker and 5mm 3-3.2V 12000 to 15000 MCD LEDS. I have access to all of the electronics that come with the Whats a Microcontroller Kit as well as the Boe-Bot refresher kit. The reason why I am writting is because I do not know how exactally to wire the LEDs on my board. I want to beable to controll 17 of the 5mm LEDs with one I/O pin as well as have 5 other sets of three LEDs, each controlled with an I/O pin. I do not know how to wire up the set so that the LEDs shine at their maximum brightness, while not destroying my board. I have done some research and found that some sources say to use transistors to increase the amount of power to the LEDs with only a small amount of power coming from the I/O pin and the board's Vdd. If you could help with what types of resistors as well as the transistors or other electronics, that would help a lot. Also, i have a time crunch for this project, so the faster we can get this working, the better.

Sincearlly,
NB_Nesquik

PS: When the project is fully assembled, the LEDs will be attached to the board with jumper wires so they can reach farther.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-03-04 16:18
    First things first. What kind of voltage is available on Vin? Is it regulated? What is the current rating of your LEDs?

-Phil
  • NB_NesquikNB_Nesquik Posts: 35
    edited 2012-03-04 20:31
    board 1.JPG
    board 2.JPG