Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
?How to interface basic stamp with servo output of r/c radio reciever? — Parallax Forums

?How to interface basic stamp with servo output of r/c radio reciever?

mikeamikea Posts: 283
edited 2012-03-01 10:19 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to microcontrollers and would like to find a way for the basic stamp 2 to sense the servo outputs of a 4 channel r/c reciever that i had from an airplane. In other words i don't want to run the servos from the reciever, just have the outputs sensed by the stamp and go from there. Maybe there is a command that would be useful in this? I know the stamp can run a servo directly as an output....so it seems it wouldnt be a giant hurdle to do the reverse and sense it as an input.The goal i guess is to have a "smart"platform for r/c projects. Thank you for any help. -mike

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-02-27 08:14
    mikea,

You should be able to do this with a BS but you will likely miss a lot of the signals. The stamp could only read one channel at a time. After it read the pulse of the first channel, it could then move on to the next. You could probably read all four channels about 12 times a second. I'm pretty sure you just use the PULSEIN command to read a pulse length instead of using PULSEOUT to send one.

Depending on your application a 12Hz read rate might be enough. Of course the 12Hz rate will get even slower if you need to perform calculations and other tasks between reading the pulses. This could be a problem depending on how "smart" you want to make your platform.

If you need to read all four channels at the normal 50Hz rate, you'll need to a different uC (such as a Prop). I'm currently working on a project where I'm reading in the pulses of six channels so I can use my RC radio to control a robot that doesn't use servos. The uC reads in the pulses from the receiver and calculates the PWM (the duty cycle kind) needed for each motor.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256