Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
new robot platform for propeller board — Parallax Forums

new robot platform for propeller board

Kris CardoenKris Cardoen Posts: 46
edited 2012-02-24 08:08 in Robotics
Hi,

I would like to build a new platform for my propeller board.

Ideally using DC motors (not cont. servos) from more power and if possible using Mecanum Wheels.

Does anyone has suggestions, what to buy and where?

I guess I need the following;
- the platform frame (1x)
- DC motors (4 when using Mecanum Wheels)
- Mecanum Wheels (4x)
- Motor controller(s) to intgratie with the propeller board? (do I buy 4 controllers or can I find one controller to handle 4 motors?)
- battery pack + chager

Is this list complete? I'm quite new at this and it is not easy to get started with the correct/best hardware.

Any suggestions/info are welcome!

Kris

Kris

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-02-22 07:43
    Kris,

I've been working on and off on a mecanum wheel project.

Go with the Vex mecanum wheels. The Fingertech ones aren't very good (IMO and erco's).

Monitoring four encoders and driving four motors can be a trick. I have some software to do this but my control over the motors isn't a smooth as I'd like. It should be possible to smooth out the control, I just haven't figured it out yet.

The Vex wheels will need to be drilled out to use with the Rover 5 chassis. I'm not completely happy with the Rover 5 but it's hard to beat its price for four motors with encoders.

I'm also not sure I like my motor control solution so far. I recently purchased some different chips (I don't recall the number off the top of my head) that might work better than my first attempt.

I recently purchased a second Rover 5 from a forum member. I thought it might be interesting to watch the Vex mecanum wheels side by side with the Fingertech mecanum wheels.

I've been itching to get back to this project so I might work on it a bit today.