Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
XB24 Modem Configuration Function Set — Parallax Forums

XB24 Modem Configuration Function Set

jagrifenjagrifen Posts: 36
edited 2012-02-21 15:47 in Accessories
I am new to the Xbee world so please forgive me if I am asking a question that has already been answered. I can't seem to find any documentation that explains what the "Function Set" drop down menu does when using X-CTU to configure an Xbee device. What does this menu actually do? It seems that different firmware versions become available to you when you choose different function sets, but I don't know if I should try using any of them or not. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2012-02-19 18:13
    There are several different hardware platforms that are called "XBee", and for each one of those platforms there are several different versions of firmware that can be loaded. For example, many series 2.5 XB24-B run the ZB protocol, and for that protocol there are four different main firmware versions, so you have to choose AT mode or API mode, and within each one of those whether the device will be end-point/router or coordinator. Those options will all be on the functions drop-down box. There are also function selections that allow you to choose the older znet firmware, with at least 6 different options, as well as firmware for several of Digi's specialized sensor and adapter modules. The newer XB24-C hardware platform has a more capable processor on board, and all the zigbee options that were separate firmware in XB24-B are now selectable at run time with one firmware.