Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Scribbler 2 hacker port; beginner — Parallax Forums

Scribbler 2 hacker port; beginner

myrkmyrk Posts: 3
edited 2012-01-28 17:17 in Robotics
Hello,

I'm somewhat new to Parallax products and circuitry in general, but I do have a bit of experience in low-level software. I recently bought the Scribbler 2 to try out the Propeller, and it works very well. Now I would like to extend it using the hacker ports, but I'm not exactly sure how. I have this small motor that I would like to connect for testing, and if I connect it to the high voltage ports and ground it works well but not with the Propeller ports 0 - 5 when I turn them to high. I'm pretty sure I'm doing something wrong, can anyone explain it to me?

Thanks.

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2012-01-28 12:35
    You can't control a motor directly from the ports. At a minimum, you'll need a transistor switch or relay. More likely a motor controller or H bridge for full control. You could also use a continuous rotation servo.
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2012-01-28 12:40
    myrk the hacker port in the S2 uses a voltage translator between the port and the Prop. Usually voltage translators have weak outputs and would require some kind of interface to power a motor. Also note that the translators also require a certain amount of drive to over come their outputs to drive the inputs to the Prop.

Edit: Welcome to the Parallax forums!
  • myrkmyrk Posts: 3
    edited 2012-01-28 13:19
    Ok, thanks.

So two more questions:

Would the power form the propeller port be good enough if it didn't have a translator?

And what is the voltage from the hacker port?
  • ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2012-01-28 13:22
    myrk a motor requires to much current to be driven directly from a Propeller port or a translator you would need to use something like as erco suggested.

Edit: the hacker port is 5 volts.
  • myrkmyrk Posts: 3