Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Determining EEPROM size? — Parallax Forums

Determining EEPROM size?

doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
edited 2012-05-10 20:30 in Propeller 1
Reading some of the threads about using upper 32KB of a 64KB EEPROM for storage got my interest. I understand that early Quickstart Boards had a 32KB (256Kb) EEPROM but later ones have 64KB (512Kb) EEPROMs.

My question is how do I determine which I have. I've tried cross referencing part numbers to no avail. Is there a way to check with the Prop IDE?

Perhaps a quick program to test read and report?


Paul

Comments

  • JasonDorieJasonDorie Posts: 1,930
    edited 2012-01-09 17:45
    There was a thread not long ago that covered this - I believe Mike Green answered it to the effect of, "Read something from the 32kb mark, write something new, then check to see if what you read ended up at the 0 byte index instead". If that happens, the write wrapped around and you're working with a 32kb eeprom. Then you write back what you read off it originally to make sure you leave everything intact.

    Edit - Found the thread:
    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?136656-Testing-EEPROM-Size

    (I use Google to search like this: find eeprom size site:forums.parallax.com )
  • mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2012-01-09 17:52
    Post #24 of this thread: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?137103-How-to-write-to-upper-32K-of-a-AT24C512-eeprom/page2

    Has a program written by Duane Degn that will show you!

    [edit: Dang iPad it's too slow to navigate and edit when there's a Propellerhead in trouble!!!]

    [edit2: Sorry for the bad link - I'll blame it on the iPad]
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-09 18:24
    Thanks guys, but apparently I'm making better progress banging my head on my desk. Perhaps some rest will help and it will all be clear tomorrow. :(

    I can't seem to get Mike Green's Basic_I2C_Driver to work.
    'OBJ
       i2c : "Basic_I2C_Driver"
    
    Gives error.



    EDIT
    never mind. :D I had not saved my file yet.... Prop IDE didn't like that.

    -maybe I am too tired
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 18:43
    Rick's link doesn't work for me. (I see now there's an extra "http" at the beginning.)

    Here's a link to the post (#24) with a program that will tell you if your EEPROM is 32K or 64K.

    Here it is again.

    http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?137103-How-to-write-to-upper-32K-of-a-AT24C512-eeprom&p=1064229&viewfull=1#post1064229
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-01-09 19:00
    doggiedoc,

    Let's start by trying it the easy way. What are the markings on your EEPROM?

    -Phil
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 19:04
    doggiedoc,

    Let's start by trying it the easy way. What are the markings on your EEPROM?

    -Phil

    Where's the fun in that?
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-01-09 19:13
    Duane Degn wrote:
    Where's the fun in that?
    'Helps to make time for the stuff that's really fun! :)

    -Phil
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 19:13
    Here's a blurry picture of an EEPROM from a Protoboard. It has a nice "AT512" to let me know it's a 64K EEPROM. (512kbits)
    attachment.php?attachmentid=88400&d=1326164966

    This is a picture of a QuickStart EEPROM. I can't tell its size from this. Do any of you know how to tell its size from the photo?

    attachment.php?attachmentid=88399&d=1326164916

    Now I don't remember if it's a 32K or a 64K. I know I've given away all my 32K QuickStart boards, but this picture was taken a while ago.
    813 x 453 - 637K
    731 x 396 - 542K
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-09 19:16
    doggiedoc,

    Let's start by trying it the easy way. What are the markings on your EEPROM?

    -Phil

    A picture is worth 1000 words, right?

    eeprom.jpg
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 19:16
    'Helps to make time for the stuff that's really fun! :)

    -Phil

    Okay I'll concede the point. Off to play with my Scribbler 2 and really have fun!
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-09 19:18
    Cool, Duane - are you using a scanner for those images?
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2012-01-09 19:22
    Duane, Paul,

    See page 14 of this document: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/21203R.pdf

    -Phil
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 19:28
    doggiedoc wrote: »
    Cool, Duane - are you using a scanner for those images?

    No, I think just used the "macro" setting on my camera. The camera is a couple of years old, a FugiFilm FinePix S1000fd (10.0MPixels). I just cropped the image close.

    I took the pictures back when the news about the 32K EEPROMs was reported to the forum. I had purchased four of the 32K versions and Parallax sent be four new 64K versions to replace them. They didn't want the old boards back; I was supposed to just give them to people who hadn't used the Propeller yet. It was fun to give away four QuickStart boards. I even sent one to India.
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-09 19:32
    Thanks Phil, but I must be particularly dense tonight. I'm not getting anywhere yet. Although I did determine that my Spinnerete which is supposed to have 64KB EEPROM is marked 412WK and my QS 412RK. ST's website didn't get me far with those codes. I'll try representative Datasheets and see where that takes me.

    I am assuming that ST and Microchip use different markings.
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-09 19:35
    Duane, Paul,

    See page 14 of this document: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/21203R.pdf

    -Phil

    Okay, so the one in my photo is a 32K EEPROM. What about Paul's?

    @Paul, The program linked to earlier (post #5 of this thread) will tell you the size of your EEPROM. Just in case you want to find out the fun way.
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-09 19:40
    @Duane - I'll do that tomorrow. It's been a long day. I did have fun getting my macro lens out though! LOL

    Paul

    PS - thanks again everybody
  • MagIO2MagIO2 Posts: 2,243
    edited 2012-01-10 12:08
    @Duane
    Thanks for the link! That program worked perfectly on my quickstart. I only increased the time it waits at the beginning, so I have more time to switch to PST and enable before it starts.

    My EEPROM has a totally different number: H8 52 2FB 2. Google helped and it seems to be an Atmel EEPROM with a page size of 128bytes.
    http://www.atmel.com/dyn/resources/prod_documents/doc5297.pdf
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-10 12:16
    If you load it to the QuickStarts EEPROM, you can press the reset button to display the information again. It will work from RAM but you have to be quick to to "enable" the terminal window. (Or change the program like you did.)

    I'm always glad when someone else uses one of my programs. I feel like the time developing it was better spent than if I were the only one to use the program.
  • idbruceidbruce Posts: 6,197
    edited 2012-01-10 16:20
    I have never studied the QuickStart boards, but I have a question. Are you absolutely certain that is an EEPROM chip?

    I am asking this question because that is definitely an STMicroelectronics chip and all of their current EEPROM chips appear to begin with an M.
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-10 16:27
    Good point Bruce. I am pretty sure the picture I posted is the EEPROM. It is the only 8 pin IC on the board and is placed similarly as the EEPROM on the Schmartboard kit that I assembled.
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-01-10 16:54
    Before giving away one of of the 32K EEPROM QuickStart boards I replaced its original EEPROM chip with a 64K chip. I tested the board to make sure the new EEPROM worked correctly (it did). I'm very sure it's an EEPROM chip.

    Also, the markings of original chip matched those in the data sheet Phil posted.
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-10 17:16
    Duane, ran your program just now. Works beautifully! I tested several boards to include my PPDB and all of my GG boards. Even ran it on my PEKits (3).

    Thanks!
  • doggiedocdoggiedoc Posts: 2,239
    edited 2012-01-10 17:25
    Ha!! I just ran it on one of Phil's Backpacks. After changing the clock mode to xtal1 + pll8x and the xinfreq to 10_000_000 it works fine. :D
  • jrjr.jrjr. Posts: 45
    edited 2012-05-10 18:54
    This thread was never properly answered and showed up in a search
    about the 64K EEPROMS,

    The eeprom marked 412RK is in fact a 64K eeprom.

    Duane's program worked out perfectly to test.

    sorry about dragging this up, but it didn't have a definitive answer.

    jack
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-05-10 20:30
    jrjr. wrote: »
    Duane's program worked out perfectly to test.

    Jack, I'm glad the program worked for you.

    The EEPROM size testing part of the program works fine but the other parts of the program for reading and writing to sections of EEPROM has some serious bugs.

    You can trust the program to test the EEPROM size but not much else.
  • rwl7532rwl7532 Posts: 23
    edited 2023-09-15 21:41

    OK. I read all the above.
    All I need to replace the EEPROM on my P1 demo board (green background) is the Mouser part # to change out for EEPROM twice the size. SOP-8 seems not the right size.
    Correct memory size (blue background)
    (Nice pictures attached)

  • The Quickstart schematic calls the EEPROM M24512. I searched that on Digikey (where Parallax buys a lot of parts) and found this:
    -- https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/stmicroelectronics/M24512-DRDW8TP-K/5175390

    You could reach out to tech support for verification.

  • Excellent. Thank you!

Sign In or Register to comment.