Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using RCTIME for MQ-3 Alcohol Gas Sensor — Parallax Forums

Using RCTIME for MQ-3 Alcohol Gas Sensor

davidrudddavidrudd Posts: 2
edited 2012-01-06 10:45 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to electronics (but have much software experience), so please forgive the perhaps simplicity of my question. I have been searching for examples of circuits for reading the MQ-3 Alcohol sensor. The examples online I come across all seem to point to using what I think are "analog" circuits (something called a "voltage divider"?). The MQ-3 documentation refers to "Connecting five volts at either the A or B pins causes the sensor to emit an analog voltage on the other pins." After completing Chapter 5 of "What's a Microcontroller" which introduced resistance-capacitor time, it seems to me that there are some sensors that are resistive (no current produced) and some that "emit a voltage". The "voltage divider" method of reading the sensor does not seem that practical with the BASIC Stamp (not having any analog inputs), whereas something like http://www.noisemantra.com/BASICStampAnalogInput.htm which shows an example of connecting an IR sensor to the base of a transistor to create a resistance between its Collector and Emitter so that the RCTIME function can be used seems VERY practical. Do I have this right? Can I route the Vout of the MQ-3 gas sensor to the Base of a transistor and set up an RCTIME circuit to accurately measure the full range of gas sensing being delivered? If I took this approach, would I still use the 220k "load" resistor across the Vout and Vss? I don't quite understand how to translate the noisemantra circuit to the MQ-3 and how the Diode fits in exactly.

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,662
    edited 2012-01-06 10:45