Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Ping)))Dar - Radar Style Display — Parallax Forums

Ping)))Dar - Radar Style Display

snit3snit3 Posts: 12
edited 2012-01-05 10:32 in Robotics
Ping.jpg

I'm somewhat new to PBASIC and the Ping system and need some help. I've set up a Boe-Bot with a Ping module and loaded the software (named above in the Title) from the Parallax "Mini Projects" book link. I'm using a BS2 Stamp and haven't messed with the original code I downloaded, so timing shouldn't be an issue. The problem is this: The sweep display (with nothing in the field of view) looks like the jpg above. Notice that the edge of the scan field markers stop short of completing the final portion of the 180 deg scan on the left side. The sweep servo is accuratey calibrated, and the proper limit values updated in the code. The Ping is physically sweeping the full 180 deg arc. Everything works well escept for the missing portion of the DEBUG screen display! Can someone suggest why my "clear field" sweep display is not indicating a full 180 deg sweep?
1024 x 640 - 29K

Comments

• Martin_HMartin_H Posts: 4,051
    edited 2012-01-04 17:17
    I did the Ping))) dar a while back. If I recall correctly the ping always returns a distance, so when there is no object at all it returns a distance of as far as possible. This displays as a semi circle like you have. If you put an object in the field it should show up as a dent in the circle.

When using the Ping))) normally you care about objects closer than a threshold, so this isn't a problem.
  • JLockeJLocke Posts: 354
    edited 2012-01-04 18:20
    I think his question was why does the semi-circle not display a full 180-degree sweep when the servo is sweeping through a 180-degree turn?

Questions for snit3: are you sure the ping is sweeping a FULL 180? Is the missing segment from the beginning or the end of the servo rotation?
  • JLockeJLocke Posts: 354
    edited 2012-01-04 18:34