Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Do I really need an ESC ? — Parallax Forums

Do I really need an ESC ?

ZetsuZetsu Posts: 186
edited 2011-12-30 06:34 in Robotics
For a DC Motor, as throttle control really whats the point of the ESC, doesnt the motor just take power and a signal wire like a servo ? (idk I am just getting started with RC model setups etc.. etc..) I would think you would have your power going across 2 of your wires, and then you would have a third for signals that you would just pulse the motor with ? No ??

Comments

• ZetsuZetsu Posts: 186
    edited 2011-12-29 08:54
    sorry i some how got this posted in the Builders thread ( great start to joing the forms lol ) can someone move it to where it will get the proper exposure ?
  • RobotWorkshopRobotWorkshop Posts: 2,307
    edited 2011-12-29 09:07
    Zetsu wrote: »
    For a DC Motor, as throttle control really whats the point of the ESC, doesnt the motor just take power and a signal wire like a servo ? (idk I am just getting started with RC model setups etc.. etc..) I would think you would have your power going across 2 of your wires, and then you would have a third for signals that you would just pulse the motor with ? No ??

No, a regular DC motor usually has two connections. Depending upon the polarity on how you connect the power (+ and -) the motor will turn in one direction or the other if you reverse the connection. The speed will vary by either the voltage applied (higher voltage = faster) or you can use a technique called PWM which can use the full voltage but it is only on a certain amount of time. It will typically be controlled by an H-Bridge.

A servo also has some extra circuitry for a control signal and most have an internal H-Bridge, The pulse width of the signal will set both the direction and speed (or position) of the servo.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H-bridge

http://www.seattlerobotics.org/guide/servos.html