Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Digital Potentiometer ? — Parallax Forums

Digital Potentiometer ?

MrScuitoMrScuito Posts: 6
edited 2012-01-02 10:03 in BASIC Stamp
I'm very new to BS2 programming I just got the BS2 homework board today to practice the circuit and code on. Anyhow, this is what I'm trying to do. I'm planning on building a LED fixture for my reef tank in the next couple of months and I would like to include a digital pot to simulate dawn to dusk cycle. Once I can (if I can) get it to work on the HWB I will scale it up and make a proper board.

Goal:
Lights begin to come on 8am slowly becoming brighter till 11am hold there till 1pm then slowly dim till off at 8pm then repeat next day and so on

What I have done:
Built digi pot on page 268 of Whats a Microcontroller ran code on that page including LOOP at the end of the code. but it cycles only once and stops. I've played with the code a bit and tried TOGGLE but still no continues cycle.

Is it possible to use the BS2 to accomplish my goal. Great with hardware never been good with software.

can anybody point me to a sample code that would give me a continueous cycle I can prob monkey with timing to get it to take 12hrs to complete cycle if I can get it too cycle.

Comments

• bsnutbsnut Posts: 521
    edited 2011-12-29 02:38
    Is it possible to use the BS2 to accomplish my goal.
    Yes, it can handle it with no problems. But, do you need all that I/O? The BS1 can handle what you need to do with no problems as well.

The code that is shown in the Homework board book is basic test code to show how the digital potentiometer works. What you also need to remember is the digital potentiometer is designed to go so many steps in one direction or another.
    can anybody point me to a sample code that would give me a continueous cycle I can prob monkey with timing to get it to take 12hrs to complete cycle if I can get it too cycle.
    I can give you some code if no one does it first.