Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Solar Charged Remote Control Electric Lawn Mower — Parallax Forums

Solar Charged Remote Control Electric Lawn Mower

Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
edited 2012-01-23 22:59 in Robotics

General Information:

For my senior college project, I built a Solar Charged Remote Control Electric Lawn Mower (SCRCELM), and also produced several How-To youtube videos that show/explain my process for building the device.

I used the Parallax Board of Education to assist with turning on the lawn mower wirelessly. Without the Parallax board, the lawn mower will never turn on. So the Parallax board did play an important role in my project. Other features that may be implemented later are, enclosure internal temperature displayed on a LCD, run time left displayed on the LCD, controlling cooling fans based on temperature, and pan/tilt of the on-board wireless camera using servos.

The full project details such as, parts list, diagrams, etc. can be found at my website: RC-LawnMower.com

Schematic:
SolarChargedRemoteControlElectricLawnMowerCircuit.jpg

Parallax Code:
' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

'Robert Smith's Senior Project Solar Charged RC Electric Lawn Mower Program
'Date: Dec. 2011
'Version: 1.0

' -----[ Variables ]-------------------------------------------------------

rcSwitch VAR Word  'monitors RC tramitter toggle switch

' -----[ Program Code ]----------------------------------------------------
DO

'///START: Check RC tramitter On-Off toggle switch

rcSwitch = IN5

'To debug the switch uncomment the line below
  'DEBUG CR, ? rcSwitch

IF (rcSwitch = 1) THEN 'turn on lawn mower
    HIGH 15
  ELSE 'turn off lawn mower
    LOW 15
  ENDIF

'///END: Check RC tramitter On-Off toggle switch

PAUSE 10

LOOP

Full List of Completed Videos:

Part 1:

Part 2:

Part 3:

Part 4:

Part 5:

Part 6:

Part 7:

Part 8:

Part 9:

Part 10:

Part 11:

Part 12:

Part 13:

Comments

• Jorge PJorge P Posts: 385
    edited 2011-12-27 22:32