Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
VB Express to Stamp Companion thread — Parallax Forums

VB Express to Stamp Companion thread

CatspawCatspaw Posts: 49
edited 2012-01-14 07:38 in BASIC Stamp
Out of respect to Unsoundcodes thread and the desire to focus on the code rather than the VB, I am starting this thread. I had a hard time using the primary attached file. I have just started exploring VB...literally about a week ago. I am also waiting for my first stamp (should be here wednesday.) So what may have seemed obvious, there were a number of things regarding VB that just didn't work for me. I really had to do alot of research to figure out how to get the first code together.

Consequently, I have re-upped the file with an appendix that describes what actually needs to be done from the VB perspective.

My intention is to generate what I was looking for orginally and to help the absolute beginner.This is for VB Express 2010. Hopefully, this will add just one more bit of knowledge to expand the braintrust on this site.

Comments

• jsaddictionjsaddiction Posts: 84
    edited 2011-12-18 21:14
    I have played around with VB a little myself trying to build a program to assist troubleshooting a peice of gear at work. I failed miserably as i could not get the serial comms to work properly. I am very interested in this thread because of this reason and to be honest having some sort of purpose built software that would integrate some some stamp or some prop hardware would be great. I will subscribe to this thread in hopes that you may figure out the tough stuff. (at least tough for me)
  • CatspawCatspaw Posts: 49
    edited 2011-12-19 05:32
    I'll clarify alittle here and state that my hope is this thread (as a companion) will be found in searches on this subject. Then, us noobs can worry about the basics of VB here without clogging up the other thread. Afterall, it is the BS forum. But, using VB in conjunction with a BS is indirectly valid.