Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Debugging using ViewPort — Parallax Forums

Debugging using ViewPort

wrmiller19wrmiller19 Posts: 17
edited 2011-12-13 14:50 in Propeller 1
Hello all,

I am new to the Propeller and Spin (new job), and have inherited a code set that I am tasked with finishing and fixing. I found the ViewPort debugger/IDE yet am unable to run it with breakpoints because my Top Objects have 40+ functions/methods in them. ViewPort says it can only handle 32. :(

I cannot/will not attempt to restructure this code right now, so do I have any way to get around this 32 method limitation?

If not, is there another way to debug my code on the target hardware?

Thanks!

Bill

Comments

  • HannoHanno Posts: 1,130
    edited 2011-12-13 14:07
    Hi Bill,
    Wow, 40+ functions in the top file! Only the breakpoint/line by line stepping functionality won't work for your project. You can still use the realtime graphing, monitor/change variables, view io states, terminal etc when you click on the "run" button.
    Eliminating/merging ~8 functions might not be so difficult...
    Hanno
  • wrmiller19wrmiller19 Posts: 17
    edited 2011-12-13 14:16
    Hi Hanno,
    Have found several of your threads on the ViewPort. Good stuff! (brown nosing flag off...)

    It gets worse. I have two propellers, in different units, the one only has one Top Object, but it has over 50 functions. The other propeller has eight different Top Objects, none of which has less than 40. Many over 50. :(

    When Cog 0 detects a SD card, it reads in other Objects from it. Not familiar with the construct yet, as I'm still learning Spin and this code but many of these spin files have 3000+ lines. Job security?
  • HannoHanno Posts: 1,130
    edited 2011-12-13 14:29
    Mmm, maybe I can do some digging to get around the restriction.

    I'm thinking of supporting top files with any number of functions with several restrictions:
    - the "Call Stack" and "Profiler" windows would only show you data on the first 31 function of the top file
    - Step Over would work as it does now for all functions, but Step Into and Step Out would only step appropriately if the current and next function aren't both in the 31+ function. (may have to read this several times :) I don't think it's a major issue...)

    When do you need this? I'm a bit backlogged with TBot orders right now :)
    Hanno
  • wrmiller19wrmiller19 Posts: 17
    edited 2011-12-13 14:44
    This might help considerably, assuming I understand what I'm reading. :)

    When you can get to it. Sometime this year? LOL... Seriously, when/if you can.

    Random Though: will Step Into trace into a non-Top File Method?

    Bill
  • HannoHanno Posts: 1,130
    edited 2011-12-13 14:50
    Great! I thought you wanted it by yesterday :)
    Yes, I'll add this before end of year.
    Debugging is done only on top file, leaving you to implement "driver" like functionality in lower objects. Implementing that would be harder...
    Hanno
Sign In or Register to comment.