Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MMA7455 Accelerometer/Basic Stamp 2 Troubles — Parallax Forums

MMA7455 Accelerometer/Basic Stamp 2 Troubles

edited 2011-12-05 14:36 in Accessories
Hi All,

I'm new to the Basic Stamp 2 module and the programming with it. To work around this, I am attempting to setup the accelerometer to read out the XYZ coordinates of my Board of Education as I change its spatial position. The demo code from the MMA7455 site is NOT working out too well for me: http://www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/txtSearch/mma7455/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/585/Default.aspx.

I have followed the instructions at the top of the demo:
'How TO Use:
' o With power initially off, connect VIN TO 5VDC (the same voltage
' powering the sTAMP). Connect GND TO Vss.
'
' o Connect P0, P1, AND P2 ON the Stamp directly TO the CS, DATA, AND CLK
' pins ON the Digital 3-Axis Accelerometer module.
'
' o Power ON the Stamp. Download AND run this code ON the Stamp.

How I interpret this: I have probed VIN - it is getting 5.04V, VSS is getting 4 mV. P0 is connected to the CS pin, P1 is connected to the DATA pin, and P2 is connected to the CLK pin. Is there some other issue that I am not seeing here? Does something else need to be set up?

Thank you for all help in advance - most appreciated.

- ButterflyKittens97

Comments

• ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2011-12-02 14:39
    I have one of these on order to use with the Propeller but I noticed the basic stamp demo description doesn't seem to match how the pins are defined.
    ' {$STAMP BS2}                                                                          
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}                                                                         

'How TO Use:                                                                            
    ' • With power initially off, connect VIN TO 5VDC (the same voltage