Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Race timer — Parallax Forums

Race timer

arendarend Posts: 4
edited 2011-11-20 19:16 in BASIC Stamp
I need help with the code for this project.

Its Pinewood Derby time. I want to do the following:

-Set a control switch at the top of the track
-Set photo sensors under the track at the bottom (for 4 - 6 lanes)
-Set up either a LCD and standard digit segment

The Cars pass over the photo sensors.
There will be a digit segmant display over each track to display (1st 2, 3, etc)
There will be a LCD in the center that will read out the speed for each track
There will be a reset and recall button for the speed.
It will be able to upload each race's speed

I have a Basic Stamp Home Work Board (with a serial port)
Any Ideas on coding this. (I am new to the langueage but familiar with java and C++ and basic bread boarding)

Thank you very much for your help.

Also if you have any sugestions of a better sensor to use for judging when the cars pass over the finish line I'm open to suggestions.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-11-20 08:52
    arend,

Welcome to the forum! It's been a half century since my pinewood derby days, so you'll have to bear with me. What, time-wise, is the average length of a race? To what degree of accuracy do you need to measure the time? Or is it good enough just to know the order of finish?

Regarding the photo sensors: Is it safe to assume that the winner is determined by which car breaks an imaginary plane across the finish line first, regardless of which part of the car it is? Or is their another criterion? Are you planning to use reflective sensors or transmissive sensors?

-Phil
  • W9GFOW9GFO Posts: 4,010
    edited 2011-11-20 10:55