Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PCB Exposure Boxes And Driller — Parallax Forums

PCB Exposure Boxes And Driller

idbruceidbruce Posts: 6,197
edited 2011-11-15 07:04 in Robotics
Hello Everyone

I know it has been a while and I have been keeping a low profile, but for the last several months I have been designing and building new equipment for the electronics hobbyist and enthuiast. More specifically, I have been designing and building an exporsure box and a cnc pcb driller for small size circuit boards, with dimensions 3 X 4 inch or less.

In the spirit of a little market research and to get the vibe of the general Parallax community, I have a question for you guys.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-11-09 18:26
    Boards that are size-compatible with the BOE, Prop Protoboard, etc., need to be 3.05" x 4". (I'm guessing it's an historical boo-boo that just keeps getting kicked down the road because it's too late to fix it. :) )

-Phil
  • idbruceidbruce Posts: 6,197
    edited 2011-11-10 01:59
    Phil

The cnc driller leadscrews have a 4 1/16" travel for both x and y axes. So realistically it could accommodate 3.05" boards :) It was not my intention to be size compatible with BOE , Prop Protoboard, etc., but the driller could do it, and I could easily adapt the exposure box for the extra 0.05", and perhaps it would be wise for me to do that, for the reason you pointed out. Or perhaps I could just make special exposure plates for that size.

My original intention was to adapt to the stock DATAK 3" X 4" presensitized boards, with various adapter plates for both the driller and the exposure box to accommodate smaller size boards.

It is my goal to develop a small, inexpensive system that will produce repeatable results, making it more affordable and appealing to the hobbyist.

Bruce
  • Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2011-11-10 09:24