Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
To ground when connected to a pin — Parallax Forums

To ground when connected to a pin

cameronsmithcameronsmith Posts: 2
edited 2011-11-03 11:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi Guys,

I'm new at this so please try and explain in simple language. Why does the circuit has to go to ground when it's connected to the input pin of the basic stamp? Isn't the basic sending the signal to ground anyway?

Please see the diagram below.

Thanks!

push-button.jpg
420 x 227 - 7K

Comments

• Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,560
    edited 2011-11-03 08:13
    cameronsmith,

Welcome to the forum!!

Current will follow the least path of resistance. When the switch is open, the least path of resistance is through the resistor to ground. If the pin is configured as an input, it will read this as a "0". When the switch is closed, the least path of resistance is through the switch. In this case the resistor acts as a current limiter to prevent a direct short to ground. If the pin is configured as an input, it will read this as a "1".
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-11-03 08:21
    Also if the pin is an input and there is no resistor the voltage on the pin is unknown and could "float" between 0 and 1.
  • cameronsmithcameronsmith Posts: 2
    edited 2011-11-03 08:27
    Hi Beau,

Thank you for the welcome,

From the diagram I would think that when the switch is open no current can flow because the is a break in the circuit. So, when the switch is down then the current can flow. So, if that is the case why would you ever need the resistor?

Or did I read the diagram wrong, do you mean when the switch is down that it is connected to the input pin. When the switch is up it's just connected to earth. If that is the case how can you tell the difference from what I assumed and from what is correct :S

Thanks,

Cameron.
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,256
    edited 2011-11-03 11:02