Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Communication between BS2p24 to BS2p24 — Parallax Forums

Communication between BS2p24 to BS2p24

pathikgohil85pathikgohil85 Posts: 21
edited 2011-11-05 05:30 in BASIC Stamp
Hello Guys,

I am looking for some help or guidance to set up communication between BS2p24 to BS2p24. I am planning to use one master and one slave right now but I am planning to increase no of slaves by 2 later. It is my first time and I do not know how to do it.

1. How many I/O pins do we need for communication between two stamps?
2. Can one stamp control more than one stamp at a same time?

Please let me know guys. Also if i get some more information about it. I read about stamps communication in basic stamp manual in SEROUT. Is it enough?

Regards,
Pathik Gohil

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2011-11-02 16:19
    Pathik,

In the Editor helpfile, there is a detailed description of SERIN and SEROUT, including a sample program to connect two Stamps together for two-way communication.

Depending on what data you wish to exchange, you could do it with as little as one pin per Stamp. As you will see in the example in the helpfile, adding an extra pin at each end can give better performance.

As well, there is discussion on using the the open collector mode as one method of having one master talk to multiple slaves.

Cheers,
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-11-02 16:20
    The description in the Basic Stamp Manual should work for what you want. You might also look in the Nuts and Volts Columns. I don't remember which ones, but there were two successive columns on a multiStamp network. Browse the index on Parallax's website.

1) You only need one I/O pin for the network. Some networks might use two I/O pins, one for sending from the master and the other for receiving from the slaves.