Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS1 newbie programming help — Parallax Forums

BS1 newbie programming help

keithcorcorankeithcorcoran Posts: 5
edited 2011-09-28 17:57 in BASIC Stamp
I'm totally new to the world of microcontrollers but have some experience with BASIC programming and a general grasp of logic needed to execute various routines, etc. I also have 'some' electronics exposure in that I know what some components do, some soldering, etc.

I'm creating a halloween prop using the BS1 project board simply because it appears to have everything I need to get started except for a power supply and straight through serial cable.

I will be ordering the board next week but want to make sure this is something I can do with this board and that I'm on the right track with this project as I'm trying to do it sort of last minute. :)

this is similar to what I am trying to achieve...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fL-l-9gqoEU

Having studied the motion routines I've come up with a diagram of what I think will be needed to accomplish this in my home built prop...

pukingClown.jpg

using the editor, help files and my limited knowledge of these types of things, here is what I came up with to execute the motion sequence. it seems to have tokenized in the editor.
' {$STAMP BS1}
' {$PBASIC 1.0}

OUTPUT 0 'stir relay
OUTPUT 1 'lean relay
OUTPUT 2 'puke relay
OUTPUT 3 'puke audio (if used)

INPUT 4 'stir counter switch
INPUT 5 'lean limit switch
INPUT 6 'stand limit switch

SYMBOL stirNum = B1

StartStir:
stirNum = 0 'reset counter variable to 0
HIGH 0 'start stir motion
GOTO StirCount 'jump to StirCount subroutine

StirCount:
  IF PIN6 = 1 THEN AddSpin 'jump to AddSpin subroutine
  IF stirNum = 10 THEN PukeRoutine 'if # of spins = 10 jump to puke subroutine
  GOTO StirCount 'loop to wait for counter trigger

PukeRoutine:
  LOW 0 'stop stir
  PAUSE 2000 'wait for stir spin down
  PULSOUT 3, 50 'send pulse to audio board to start audio
  HIGH 1 'start lean motion