Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Total Newbie — Parallax Forums

Total Newbie

waltsarwaltsar Posts: 2
edited 2011-09-09 12:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I've never even seen a STAMP controller so I only have a vague idea of it's use.

Please help me to understand what a basic stamp can and cannot do. I'm familiar with industrial PLC's and once knew BASIC programming.

Can a STAMP (or an equivalent) mini-controller be configured and programmed to do simple PLC functions? Particularly, does it have an I/O structure that can input simple switch inputs and also output signals that can be used to control relays?

I want to develop a control system for a model railroad that will read transistor switch outputs and reed switches, act on those inputs through internal programming and then drive relays to produce desired actions. Is the STAMP capable of this sort of action?

Thank you,
Walt

Comments

• RL600RL600 Posts: 40
    edited 2011-09-09 01:50
    H
  • stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2011-09-09 04:52
    Hi Walt, welcome to the forums.

If you have plc and BASIC experience, you'll have no real problems adapting to the Stamp. Think of it as a small plc where the i/o is configurable to be an input, output, or communication.

The biggest difference is you have to deal with protetcting the Stamp from your field inputs and providing the appropriate relay or triac outputs as the Stamp is pretty much a 0 volt and 5 volt kind of device. The number of inputs and outputs can be expanded plus there are several models which give a range of capability.

There are several of us here with industrial experience, so jump in, start a project and ask any questions along the way.

Cheers,
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-09-09 06:53
    Walt,