Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Anybody working on SNMP functionality for the Spinneret? — Parallax Forums

Anybody working on SNMP functionality for the Spinneret?

edited 2011-09-07 13:23 in Accessories
Newbie here with a general question.

I would love to be able to sprinkle Spinnerets around a commercial/industrial environment, doing various sensing and electromechanical control tasks and communicating back to a centralized SNMP management console that would log data, issue automated commands and send out automated alarm messages via email & SMS.

Is anyone out there working on anything like this?

I have tried forum searches, RTFM and GIYF but have come up dry so far.

Thanks for reading.

Comments

• Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2011-08-28 15:54
    I'm not sure if anyone implemented an SNMP application layer on the Spinneret. SNMP would be an awesomely cool project and a very good fit for the Spinneret. I'm willing to lend a hand, time permitting.
  • edited 2011-08-29 03:40
    I'm a SPIN virgin myself so it would be a long walk for me. I have experience with BASIC, PBASIC, MSBASIC, QBASIC, ZBASIC.net, VisualBASIC, FORTH, (some) C, FORTRAN and RPN. I was hoping that someone already had a module for SNMP in SPIN!
  • mindrobotsmindrobots Posts: 6,506
    edited 2011-08-29 06:21
    Christopher,

First off, Welcome!

Secondly.....did you say Forth?? There is PropForth (see link below) which runs on the Prop and has vocabularies written to turn the Spinner into a HTTP server or an IP server supporting up to 4 concurrent Telnet sessions PLUS a commend line interface across the Spinner's serial interface. I would think these could provide a good start for SNMP functionality.

I'm relatively new but strangley drawn to Forth and especially PropForth on all the Propeller platforms I can find. It runs well on the Spinner and is fun to play with on any!!
  • edited 2011-08-29 12:21