Ethernet and wifi

RL600RL600 Posts: 40
edited 2011-08-29 10:16 in Accessories
Hello,

I'm new in the world of Ethernet and wifi. I have 1 boe-bot and
I want to control him over 60 km with Ethernet. But I have no idea
which product on parallax I need.Can somebody tell me which set
I must take which can give me the 60 km. And the set must also
be for beginners. With constructions in a book for example.

RL600

Comments

• John R.John R. Posts: 1,376
    edited 2011-08-20 09:22
    The "beginners" part will be tough at this time, as Parallax doesn't have the products you need, and I am not aware of anyone else that would have a product useable at that level.

Setting that aside, there are still some challenges to overcome. 60km is out of range of any single solution, meaning you're going to have to either build, or use, some sort of "infrastructure". What the heck does that mean?
    • WiFi is not going to cover 60km (37 mi for us imperialist Yankee pigs) from a single access point.
    • UTP (unshielded twisted pair) is limited to 100m.
    • You could probably find some type of fiber that could run the 60km, but unless you have very deep pockets, this is not practicable, and the BOEBot would not be able to pull that around anyway.
    • So, you're going to need to either build up a long haul network (not practicable in most cases) or use an existing network, meaning either The Internet, or Cell phone.