Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
USB mouse to BS2 using Parallax Memory Stick Data Logger — Parallax Forums

USB mouse to BS2 using Parallax Memory Stick Data Logger

Bill KingsleyBill Kingsley Posts: 11
edited 2011-08-19 10:04 in BASIC Stamp
Has anyone used the Parallax Memory Stcik Data Logger as a USB Host to read input from a USB mouse to a Basic Stamp? I want to receive touch data from a USB touch screen into a BS2. I have done this with a few times before with a rs232 serial touch screen. The touch screen sends a string of bytes that relate to the x and y coordinates each time the screen is touched.

Is there a simple way for the USB Memory Stick Data Logger to simply pass received USB strings to the BS2? I am new to using USB with a micro. I suspect I may need to do some sort of hand shake to make the USB connection first?

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2011-08-18 11:17
    I don't think you can use the Parallax Datalogger for any USB device except as storage. Apparently from the VDAPFirmwarespec (product page there are two USB interfaces on the chip, and they have different, exclusive functionality. You can try anyway to hook up a USB HID to the port, and then test the interface with the QP1 and QP2 commands, and from there see if it does recognize the HID then try out some of the commands on page 12. I'd start with the sample datalogger code, test that with a flash drive first, then once it works try and modify it to see if you can get an HID device to work.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-08-18 11:19