Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How To Make Sure Wires Stay In BreadBoard on Board of Education... — Parallax Forums

How To Make Sure Wires Stay In BreadBoard on Board of Education...

Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
edited 2011-08-22 15:38 in BASIC Stamp
Hey all,

I was curious if someone had a solution for ensuring that the copper wires you place in the breadboard would stay firmly in place? I'm using my board of education (BOE) in a project that highly depends on the BOE and if a wire pops lose, "which it has", it can stop the entire project from working.

It would be cool if they created a component that allowed you to solder the wires to it, and then this component would simply press firmly into place over the entire breadboard. Kinda like a sandwich, but the leads of it would be those metal type pigtail leads...

Hoping I'm making some sense and hoping someone has a suggestion on what I can try.

Comments

• dandreaedandreae Posts: 1,375
    edited 2011-08-16 07:18
    There are two things to try:

You try putting a kink in the end of the jumper wire which will give you medium tension or use hot glue. You can still pry the hot glue off if you need to make changes.
  • Mike GMike G Posts: 2,702
    edited 2011-08-16 07:22
    It would be cool if they created a component that allowed you to solder the wires to it, and then this component would simply press firmly into place over the entire breadboard. Kinda like a sandwich, but the leads of it would be those metal type pigtail leads...
    Look up pin headers. Custom ribbon cables work well for connections.
  • Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
    edited 2011-08-16 07:25
    dandreae wrote: »
    There are two things to try:

You try putting a kink in the end of the jumper wire which will give you medium tension or use hot glue. You can still pry the hot glue off if you need to make changes.