Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Rapman 3.1 Build Log — Parallax Forums

Rapman 3.1 Build Log

max72max72 Posts: 1,155
edited 2011-08-29 06:55 in Robotics
I have received my rapman, and after Phil's step by step, I decided to offer a similar log for yet another 3D printer.
I went to the Rapman because the uk seller is "closer" to me, and an european seller simplifies a lot the customs aspect.
I purchased the double head no solder kit.
Waiting for the delivery I studied the bitsfrombytes forum, and Phil's experiences, so I kept the loctite far away..
The manuals are well done, besides a couple of imperfections. On the website are available print manuals, 3D pdfs of all the steps, 3Dpdfs with assembly animation and a couple of videos. All in all a very well done documentation. I really like the 3D pdf, and I made some in the past. Using them is always a nice experience.
Anyway first thing I did with the new kit was to fry the power supply, probably I didn't plug the power AC cable well enough, but the power supply fried at once.
I had a PC power supply handy, so I was able to use it and power the board, and update the firmware.
I'll attach the pictures in the next post.
Massimo

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,387
    edited 2011-08-16 10:48
    Massimo, will be nice to follow your plans on this forum. Rapman looks interesting, too - nice to see another 3D printer option.

It's also fun to see the Builder forum become a place to track ongoing projects. Hopefully we're doing what Bump expected us to do.

Ken Gracey
  • max72max72 Posts: 1,155
    edited 2011-08-16 14:38
    Thanks Ken,
    I'll try to make a complete report of the Rapman, and of the modifications. After all a heated bed calls for a PID propeller project..
    Please check the pdf 3D, I believe they could be of interest for you.

By the way there is at least another propeller user in the Rapman forum, and a big contributor on the obex, by the way (is F32 ringing a bell?).