Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Xbee Long-Range — Parallax Forums

Xbee Long-Range

jakethesnakejakethesnake Posts: 15
edited 2011-09-01 19:02 in Accessories
Hello,

I would greatly appreciate any answers to the following questions. I am fairly new to the world of microcontrollers but i have learned quickly and want to embark on a rather large project of building a UAV. First though i need a smaller task to create a GPS tracking device that i can communicate with via radio. The tracking device would be placed in the payload of a weather balloon to be tracked so it can be retrieved for landing-i can do this with a cell phone but would like it if i could build my own device to get some experience.
First:
The Parallax Xbee modules do not have the range i need for my project-is there any way to build a signal amplifier?
Second: How hard is it to connect a Xbee to a BASIC Stamp module and set it up to transmit the data from a GPS module?
Third:
Can a Xbee module remotely turn on and off a simple switch that is isolated electronically from the BASIC Stamp? Could I use a Digital Potentiometer?
Thank You!
-jakethesnake

Comments

• jakethesnakejakethesnake Posts: 15
    edited 2011-08-07 09:18
    Thank You!
    However i would rather not deal with cell networks-any ideas how to at least double the range and keep it cell network free?
  • Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-08-07 12:23
    I have a couple of 900mHz XBee XSC modules. Supposedly they have a 14 mile range. I did a range test by leaving one unit it the house and I walked down the street with the other unit. I started having trouble about a block away. I lost all signal once I turned the corner had a full blocks worth of houses between modules.

These modules should do a lot better in an open area. I'm not so sure about getting a full 14 miles out of them. They should work better if one or both units had a directional antenna.