Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Balanse robot — Parallax Forums

Balanse robot

OjekeOjeke Posts: 1
edited 2011-08-31 19:54 in Robotics
Hello,

I am new on this site, so i will introduce myself.

I am a student electronics, and i am fascinated by robots. This is the third robot i have build in my life. I live in Belgium(the country with still no government).

I sow somewhere on the net a home made robot that could stand stil on 2 wheels, somting like a segway. So i got the idea for a new project to make.

I started the design in september, between my studies i found a little spare time to build and program the robot. I add a lot of futures and flexibility in the electronic design. After a lot of designing and fitting i finished with an 2 layer PCB of 6 cm by 8 cm. (thats 2.4 by 3.1 inch for the Amerikan people)

Hardware present on this PCB:

- 1 bluetooth communicator
- 1 Gyroscope
- 1 acceleration sensor
- 2 wheel decoders
- 2 motor servo's with coninue rotation
- 1 18F2520
- 1 battey charger
- 1 piezo speaker
- 1 indication LED
- I²C connection for expandable modules (not yet implanted on the PIC, but bussy with it)
- Program connection for PIC (never used, always programmed with a boot-loader and bluetooth connection)

What can it do:

- Try not to fall :smile: (main goal)
- Control the drive direction on a PC with bluetooth (busy with an android application, but need some help :innocent:)
- Reprogramming with no program hardware tools or cables, just Bluetooth connection.

I want to add:

- line follow module, already designed and build a sensor PCB. But the firmware on the sensor PCB is not ready. (stuck on the I²C communication, but i will try to fix it this weekend)
- Object detection, same as line follow module.
- Wirless cam with wifi or bluetooth, still a dream

Project fotos:

robot1.jpg
print_onbestukt_balans_ojeke.jpg
print_zeide_1_ojeke.jpg
print_zeide_2_ojeke.jpg
encoders.jpg
Big sticker of Parallax :p
zijkant%20ojeke.jpg

Project movie: