Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2pe Array — Parallax Forums

BS2pe Array

jamesksujamesksu Posts: 22
edited 2011-08-08 14:59 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, complete noob question again I'm sure, but I thought I'd put this out there and see if anyone has any thoughts about this:

I would like to have an array of up to 12 BS2pe controllers, each containing a color sensor and PING))) sensor. Upon object detection, a color sensor will take a snapshot of 20 RGB readings. The array of 12 basic stamps will transmit the sensed readings at random times and often concurrently. Ideally, the array will all be connected through a USB hub to a single PC, where the data will be logged and manipulated. Does anyone have thoughts about how this could work? I have been able to fully accomplish the task with one BS2pe connected through PC, but what complications could occur with multiple controllers sending data at the same time?

Thanks.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-08-03 21:45
    How did you plan to connect the individual Stamps to the PC? Did you plan for each to have its own virtual serial port via USB? Alternatively, did you plan for the Stamps to be networked and share a single virtual serial port via USB? Did you plan something else?

If you want to network the Stamps, there's a pair of Nuts and Volts Columns that discusses a Stamp network. I don't remember which Columns, but you could easily spot them browsing through the index (click on the Resources tab on the main Parallax webpage for a link).
  • stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2011-08-04 07:02
    Theres no question that the terms "random" and "concurrently" will be real challenges in a serial communication scheme. Just as with many forms of communication, having more than two parties trying to talk at the same time causes nothing but confusion.

Having said that, consider this scenario: