Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2pe Question — Parallax Forums

BS2pe Question

jamesksujamesksu Posts: 22
edited 2011-08-02 14:23 in BASIC Stamp
Sorry for the complete noob question, and someone may be able to point me to another thread that answers this:

I have a bs2pe that I want to connect (2) daughterboards to. I have a TCS230 color sensor and a PWR-I/O board with a PIR sensor and servo motor attached with 3 pin. Basically I just need help getting started on how I address different devices on the bs2pe using a single program. Everytime I try to run the motor or PIR sensor, any code automatically goes to the color sensor in the "B" socket. Is there a sample code I could grab that shows how to address different devices in socket "a" and "b" in the same program? Is this even possible? Thanks.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-08-02 08:52
    With two exceptions that won't affect you, the BS2pe ports that access socket "A" are different from those that access socket "B". The illustration at the top of page 5 in the MoBo manual shows which BS2pe ports access which pins in both sockets. So, yes, you can detect colors with a TCS230/3200 plugged into "B", while controlling a servo in "A", for example. You just have to make sure to use the port corresponding to the pin in "A" to which the servo is connected.

Here's a thread that shows a TSL1401-DB and PWR-I/O-DB working together to acquire color images. The BS2pe code is attached below. ('Probably not the best example, since it lacks comments, but you'll get the gist from the pin assignments.)

If you attach your code, it will be easier to provide further assistance if you need it.

-Phil
  • jamesksujamesksu Posts: 22
    edited 2011-08-02 11:12
    Phil- thanks for the quick response. My only confusion now is the OWOUT command, which appears to be the way to address each device connected to the daughterboard. In the sample code you sent, it says: