Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How To Convert 24v to 9v so I can use Board of Education? — Parallax Forums

How To Convert 24v to 9v so I can use Board of Education?

Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
edited 2011-07-31 18:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

For a project of mine, I'm needing a method for converting 24v DC to 9v DC which the board of education can handle. I'm curious what exactly I would need to do this?

Other components are hooked up to the battery like a motor which requires 24v, but since the board of education cannot handle that much voltage, I need a way to drop the voltage going to the Board of Education however, I do not want the voltage going to my motors to be effected any.

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2011-07-30 00:11
    Use a National Semiconductor Simple Switcher:

http://www.national.com/en/power/simple_switcher/index.html
  • Im New To MicroIm New To Micro Posts: 42
    edited 2011-07-30 00:38
    Leon wrote: »
    Use a National Semiconductor Simple Switcher:

http://www.national.com/en/power/simple_switcher/index.html

Hmm just spent a couple of minutes trying it out and it seems like it has a lot of potential, however, it seems too complex or contains too many steps to get to a simple answer :D However, almost anything that's new seems that way at first so I may have to read up on how to actually use the thing later. Thanks though.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-07-30 09:51
    Dimension Engineering makes several switching regulators that are intended to replace standard linear 3-pin regulators. This one has an adjustable output voltage and can be set to produce 9V. You can make your own more cheaply using the National parts, but Dimension Engineering's is ready-to-go and not that expensive. I've used them
    edited 2011-07-30 10:08
    Mike Green wrote: »