Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
HELP - BasicStamp Tach with 4 digit 7 segment display — Parallax Forums

HELP - BasicStamp Tach with 4 digit 7 segment display

vpcncvpcnc Posts: 7
edited 2011-07-29 11:08 in BASIC Stamp
I'm New to Basic Stamps, but have a lot of High-Level Programming Language experience, and Electronic Hobbyist Experience.
My Project is a Replacement for an Obsolete OEM industrial Tachometer.

The Equipment Currently had a Slotted Wheel with 80 teeth
It has an Optical Sensor ( led and photo sensor ) set up
The teeth pass between the two and create a pulse stream.
MAX rpm will be about 4000 rpm.
4000 x 80 = 320,000 pulses per minute
or 320,000 / 60 = 5334 pulses per second.

I need a way to Count the pulses
Calculate the RPM based on the Number of Pulses received in a set amount of time.
Display the Calculated RPM on a 4 DIGIT 7 Segment LCD display.

The Display uses 4 common Cathode lines and 4 x Abcdefg data lines for the segments

Here is my Question?
Will ONE basic stamp be able to handle this project or will I need two?
Can One Stamp Count the Pulses, and Keep the LCD display updated while it is getting the Pulse count?

Here is my Idea.
Count Pulses for 1 second. ( 1 second between display updates)
Calculate the RPM - For 1 second of pulses I will use this formula
(Pulses counted / 80 teeth ) * ( 60 / 1 second ) = RPM

For faster display updates I can go to 1/2 second
(Pulses counted / 80 teeth ) * ( 60 / .5 seconds ) = RPM

Display the RPM on the LCD display

I need 11 I/O lines for the Display
4 I/O to Control Digit access
7 I/O for Segment control

Display loop
Switch Access to Digit (1)
turn on the segments for Digit 1
Switch Access to Digit (2)
Turn on the segments for Digit 2
Switch Access Digit (3)
Turn on the segments for Digit 3
Switch Access to Digit (4)
Turn on segments for Digit 4
end of Display Loop

I figure this loop needs to execute about 30 times a second.

I'll build a look up Table for the Digits 0 to 9
Digit segments