Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Making a GPS Datalogger — Parallax Forums

Making a GPS Datalogger

SPolySPoly Posts: 20
edited 2011-07-26 17:51 in Robotics
Hi there. Basically I am a newbie at Parallax and also new to Stamp. Having said that i need to make a project related to GPS Datalogger, I decided to use Stamp and a few other components to make this possible. So let me start on the basics of my project.

My idea here is that I want to make an aircraft disaster location system that will be attached in an RC plane. Therefore at every few intervals, the coordinates of the aircraft will be sent to a computer not far away[less than 600m] using the GPS module and such.Also if a crash occur, a message will be sent to the computer stating the incident report and also the coordinates of the wrecked aircraft.
Therefore after much research, I came to a conclusion that what I need to make this project work are :
Parallax GPS Datalogger kit x1
XBee PRO 60mW Wire Antenna (XBP24-AWI-001) x2
XBee USB Adapter Board x1 (to connect the XBee Pro to the computer to act as a receiver)
XBee 5V/3.3V Adapter Board x1 ( to connect the XBee Pro located in the aircraft)
MMA7455 3-Axis Accelerometer Module x 1 (to measure the sudden impact)

So please help me in this and state any other crucial components that i might need. Please note that the testing will not be done while flying as the main point here is to get the system working first.
Thanks all....

Comments

• alex123alex123 Posts: 102
    edited 2011-07-24 14:44
    It sounds like a fun project. I'm an RC pilot myself. You are on the right tracks. I'd suggest logging more than just a crash data though e.g. battery voltage, engine or motor RPM, air speed, altitude etc.