Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hello my name is...NOOB — Parallax Forums

Hello my name is...NOOB

PraetorPraetor Posts: 4
edited 2011-07-28 06:23 in BASIC Stamp
I just picked up the Parallax ("What's a Microcontroller") Homework Board at my local [area] Radio Shack and found it to be interesting, I'm still hesitant about learning this stuff because I have never tinkered with anything like this, and find it a bit intimidating...like maybe I break it some how, and not know it. But so far so good, i am making things go blink, blink (LED blinker). Although I'm far from a novice hobbyist, having know basics of electronics and have been making B.E.A.M bots for the past ten years, this is a bit advanced, yet fun. Can I run small gear motors of this particular board? Has anyone have an indepth description of putting together an LED chaser project?

Comments

• xanatosxanatos Posts: 1,120
    edited 2011-07-16 12:28
    Hello Praetor, welcome to the forums! There are a LOT of folks on here who started as you did, with no previous experience of microcontrollers - and are now making very useful things from them - some even get paid to make those things! I also started in microcontrollers with the "What's a Microcontroller" kit from RS.

Keep working through the manual until you get through it entirely. While a section may not SEEM like it might pertain to something that interests you, you will learn in each section, various skills that are applicable to other tasks once you are familiar with them.

For a very simple LED chaser, instead of having one LED hooked to one pin as in a Blink LED experiment, you could have, say, 8 LEDs hooked to 8 pins, and in the program, sequentially turn one on, wait for a short count, then turn that one off and turn the next on, wait for a short count, then... and so on until you reach the last LED, then loop back to the first one, repeating the code indefinitely.