Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Robot over internet — Parallax Forums

Robot over internet

BornaBorna Posts: 36
edited 2011-07-22 12:13 in Robotics
Hi guys,
I’m very new to robot and MC programming, but not new to application programming in Java and C++.
I want to build a robot with IP camera so I can control it over the internet with command to go forward, backward, left, right and etc while the Camera transmit the live images.

I want to ask if you guys think I’m on the right track with my idea.
The Robot will use propeller MC with IP camera and RF module to receive signal from BS2 connected to a PC with a web server that receive the signal over the internet through maybe a USB port or serial port. The BS2 gets the command and send it to the robot through RF module. The user interface to control the robot is Java applet which will communicate with the Tomcat application server.

Thanks
Borna

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2011-07-08 08:04
    The Propeller isn't expected to communicate with the IP camera, right?

Do you just want the Propeller to control the movement of the robot based on the data received from the BS?

I don't think there should be a problem in controlling a robot this way.
  • BornaBorna Posts: 36
    edited 2011-07-08 09:08
    Correct, the wireless IP camera function on its own and not integrated with the Propeller.
    So as you mentioned, the Propeller is only responsible for movement of robot

Also is it better to use wireless RF to communicate btween BS2 and Propeller or bluetooth device?

Thanks
    Borna
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2011-07-08 12:42
    Also is it better to use wireless RF to communicate btween BS2 and Propeller or bluetooth device?
    Both will work but I think you will get better range with the RF. You should look into the xbee radios also.
  • iDaveiDave Posts: 252
    edited 2011-07-08 16:58