Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp and/or other Parallax product applications for signaling — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp and/or other Parallax product applications for signaling

Charles HaleyCharles Haley Posts: 3
edited 2011-06-22 13:19 in BASIC Stamp
Dear Folks,

I am new to Parallax and have a basic to intermediate electronics knowledge. I recently purchased the educational kit "What's a Microcontroller?" by Andy Lindsay. Is it possible to run a model railroad signaling system with the Basic Stamp technology/hardware and/or other products to suppor this task?
Signaling systems are similar to traffic light systems on the highway, but are sensor activated, without timers (in most cases). Input is provided from signal to signal, from electromechanical switches, from sensors (usually current sensitive detectors), and from manual "overrides". I know there's a lot of logic circuitry opportunites involved (if, then's, etc.). I hope to gain a couple of answers to help me in my persuit of controlling my signals.

Thank you.
Charles Haley

Comments

• UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2011-06-19 18:04
    Hi Charles, this application has always been one of my favorites

http://www.parallax.com/tabid/309/Default.aspx

Jeff T.

Edit : Welcome to the Parallax forums
    edited 2011-06-20 06:02
    The above link does not seem to provide all the information try this one

http://www.buczynski.com/DnB_rr/DnB_Overview.shtml

Jeff T.
  • Charles HaleyCharles Haley Posts: 3
    edited 2011-06-20 18:35
    Hi Jeff T.,