Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
servos - analog or digital — Parallax Forums

servos - analog or digital

David BDavid B Posts: 592
edited 2011-05-31 15:03 in Robotics
I have a project that needs a dozen or more individual motions, and I'm trying to keep it inexpensive, so I started looking around for any and all cheap motion devices - steppers, servos, muscle wire, relays, pneumatics, solenoids, whatever will do the job.

I've got some stepper experience, but only have a few steppers in the junkbox, and even with salvaged steppers, buying lots of controller chips quickly gets expensive. So I'm looking more at servos.

I'm a total servo beginner. I have an old Vex robotics servo, have played around with a couple of OBEX servo programs and have gotten it to work, but that's about the extent of my experience.

I went to the website for Hobbytown (a local hobby store) and see that they offer both analog and digital servos. They show a small analog servo at $9, which is about as cheap as I've seen around.

Is anyone here familiar with the analog/digital distinction in servomotors? Even the Parallax store doesn't say anything about analog/digital in its's servo offerings.

Which sort do the OBEX servo programs operate? Or can they operate either?

Does anyone know about this stuff?

thanks.

Comments

• prof_brainoprof_braino Posts: 4,313
    edited 2011-05-31 11:43
    A guy at the Chicago robotics club got 20 of these at $2.77, they are not the most powerful but they might be the cheapest
    http://www.hobbypartz.com/topromisesg9.html

Analog servos are not so accurate and don't do "extra" functions as digital servos might (position reporting, software reversable. etc).