Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 as a bcd to decimal converter — Parallax Forums

BS2 as a bcd to decimal converter

pataypatay Posts: 2
edited 2011-05-26 22:30 in BASIC Stamp
i have a 4 bit binary input and i want 12 decimal independent outputs.

i'm new in this and i don't know how can i configure the I/O pins to make this work?

Comments

• UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2011-05-26 12:24
    Hi, under Memory and Variables in the Pbasic help file it talks about the registers OUTS, INS and DIRS. These registers are used to configure or control the 16 Stamp I/O pins, either individually or simultaneously. If the first 12 pins were configured as outputs an instruction as simple as OUTS=16 would make P4 high. How you configure this is dependent on whether you want several ouputs high or only one at any one time. The 4 bit binary input follows the same rules, if the inputs are P12 through P15 your instruction might look like this :- MyVariable=IND, MyValue would then contain a number that reflected the binary state of P12-P15 (0 through 15 decimal). This will become much clearer once you have read the section on DIRS ,OUTS and INS.

Jeff T.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-05-26 12:33
    This has very little to do with how you configure the I/O pins. First of all, you should get a copy of the "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial and the Stamp Basic Syntax and Reference Manual. If you have the Stamp Editor, they're included in the help files. If not, go to the main Parallax webpage and click on the Downloads button. The first is under Stamp Tutorials and the second is under Stamp Documentation.

The Manual's section on memory allocation discusses how the Stamp I/O pins work and how to use them.