Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PBASIC Question — Parallax Forums

PBASIC Question

undermuttundermutt Posts: 22
edited 2011-05-22 16:41 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to robotics. It was something I wanted to do as a kid but wasn't able to until now. I stumbled across the BOE-BOT a couple of months ago and fell in love.

My little creation consists of a bsp24 master and bs2 slave. The slave controls a soundPal, a servoPal, wheel encoders, an accelerometer, and 4 QTI sensors. The master controls, at the moment, a temperature sensor and a serial LCD. The master also controls a Ping sensor, photo resistor, ir detector, and ir LED mounted on a turret.

I have both master and slave reliably doing what they need to be doing.
I also have master and slave passing commands and responses as they should, not so reliably.

While working on the communication problem I came across a programming thing that drove me nuts for a bit.

Why does this work...
IF listening = no THEN

but not this...
IF NOT listening THEN

listening is a bit
yes = 1, no = 0

Am I missing something, (won't be the first time)??????

I've attached the code and some screen shots of the output.

Thanks,

Rick.
904 x 435 - 71K
901 x 447 - 67K

Comments

• ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2011-05-22 13:15
    NOT is an operator, so it "inverts" the value you are checking then evaluates the if/then. So these are functionally equivalent, presuming "listening" = 0:

IF NOT listening THEN
    ' do something
    ENDIF

IF listening = 1 THEN
    ' do something
    ENDIF

listening = ~listening
    IF listening THEN
    ' do something
    ENDIF
  • undermuttundermutt Posts: 22
    edited 2011-05-22 14:16
    Zoot,

Thanks for the reply.

I realize that what you say is true and that is what I expected to happen.