Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic Stamp 2 Connection Problem — Parallax Forums

Basic Stamp 2 Connection Problem

bbzz24bbzz24 Posts: 5
edited 2011-05-17 12:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,
I am new to Basic Stamp 2 and trying to establish a connection to it from my Windows XP PC but it just does not recognize the microcontroller. I have already installed the Basic Stamp Editor and the USB driver and connecting through a USB to Serial cable and the Windows Device Manager finds something, the USB-Serial Controller on the second image, but does not recognize what it is. The editor recongizes only port 1 on my PC. The microcontroller is connected to a 9V battery to the right, the jumpers to the left connect to pins 2(green), 3(yellow), 4(gray), 5(black) of a DB9 serial end. When I attempt to power the microcontroller through pin 21 at 5V from a motor driver, it blinks as if the microcontroller is not connected to the power according to the motor driver's documentation.
Please help if you have any idea what might be wrong with my setup.

IMG_20110517_174108.jpg

BS2.PNG

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2011-05-17 08:11
    What USB-Serial adapter are you using? Remember that USB drivers are device specific. The one that comes with the Stamp Editor is for a USB-Serial adapter that uses the FTDI chip. It won't work with other manufacturer's adapters.
  • bbzz24bbzz24 Posts: 5
    edited 2011-05-17 08:27
    I am using a generic one, cant crack it open to see the chip inside. Any suggestions how I can establish a connection, I need to get it working within a couple of days with some basic operations.

IMG_20110517_182025.jpg
    edited 2011-05-17 08:38