Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Scribbler2 SCB to spin? — Parallax Forums

Scribbler2 SCB to spin?

ronlawrence3ronlawrence3 Posts: 4
edited 2011-12-29 11:29 in Robotics
Phil or Parallax,

I just purchased an S2 this week and I have been having a great time learning about robotics and the propeller chip from this little guy. I am new to robotics, but have been programming in a variety of languages since 1978.

My platform of choice is now Ubuntu Linux, and the S2 GUI program runs great in wine, but I cannot get it to talk to the serial port enough to get it to work completely (as I've seen others report). I'd love to get a native linux version of this running or at least something that can convert the *.scb xml files to spin. I have had great luck with BST in getting spin code working on the robot, and have been able to complete things like Jessica's great name demo: http://forums.parallax.com/entry.php?171-Scribble-Your-Name-with-the-S2-Robot

Could you give me some pointers to get started on this? I'm happy to contribute whatever I come up with back to the list...

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2011-05-15 14:04
    If the included Propeller Tool also runs under Wine, you might be able to click on the "View Program" icon in the menu bar (arrow pointing to notepad) to view it, and then to save the converted Spin file from the Prop Tool.

-Phil
  • ronlawrence3ronlawrence3 Posts: 4
    edited 2011-05-15 14:18
    Wow, fast reply! :)

Unfortunately that button (along with the all the other buttons dealing with communicating with the S2) does not work in wine. I see the following two messages in the wine log after clicking that button

fixme:msvcrt:MSVCRT__sopen : pmode 0x01b6 ignored
    File not found

I will continue to add debug flags to wine (and maybe strace the issue) to see what it is that it cannot find.