Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Parallax PIR sensor (#555-28027) — Parallax Forums

Parallax PIR sensor (#555-28027)

rickmanrickman Posts: 3
edited 2011-05-16 11:57 in Accessories
I am brand new to this, so please be patient. The PIR sensor (#555-28027) output pin puts out about 3.2 volts when it senses motion. I want to produce a switch closure from this pin. What kind of relay or component will activate a switch closure from this output? Thank you very much.

Comments

• ElectricAyeElectricAye Posts: 4,561
    edited 2011-05-13 16:25
    rickman wrote: »
    ...What kind of relay or component will activate a switch closure from this output?...

Hey, welcome to the forum!

There are a number of ways to use the output of the PIR to control other devices. But what we need to know is what kind of device? How much current and voltage does it draw, etc. The more details you can provide, the better.
  • rickmanrickman Posts: 3
    edited 2011-05-13 21:14
    Thank you for responding Electric Aye!

I am trying to activate a power door lock actuator based on the output from the PIR.
    Here is a link for the actuator: http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=330-010
    The actuator operates on 12 volts DC, I don't know how many amps it takes.

I tried to use a Solid State Crydom relay that has 3.5-32 volts input = a switch closure output.
    Here is a link for the Crydom relay: http://www.alliedelec.com/search/productdetail.aspx?SKU=6820067#tab=Specs
    I connect the actuator to a 12 volt supply and connect it 'in-line' on the positive side. When the input side goes high, the output side of the relay completes a line switch closure and powers 12 volts to the actuator. However, the 3.2 volt output from the PIR is not enough to trigger the Crydom relay.

Any suggestions? Thank you very much.
    edited 2011-05-13 21:50
    ... However, the 3.2 volt output from the PIR is not enough to trigger the Crydom relay.

Any suggestions? ....