Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 PULSIN issue — Parallax Forums

BS2 PULSIN issue

Wu HaoxuanWu Haoxuan Posts: 14
edited 2011-05-20 10:23 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I am using a BS2 in an application where I need to measure the period of a square wave signal. I am using the PULSIN command to measure the high and low segments of the square independently.

I am having a problem: the PULSIN measurements are, for the most part, way off.

Whereas the high should be around 2 ms and the low 12 ms (that's milliseconds), I get between 2 us and 50 us for both (that's microseconds). The issue is prevalent; only about 1 in 20 measurements are anywhere close to being accurate. I'm using an oscilloscope to monitor the signal so I know what times to expect.

I'm pretty new to programming the BS2, and my PULSIN program is very simple:

trigger PIN 4
scale CON $200 'scale for STAMP
hitime VAR Word(5) 'variable assignments for measured quantities
lotime VAR Word(5)
totime VAR Word 'variable assignments for calculated quantities
plscnt VAR Nib 'variable assignments for counters

PAUSE 1000

Prompt: 'Sub-program for user prompt
DO
DEBUG CLS, "Press button to measure ",
"vibrational period:", CR
IF (trigger = 1) THEN EXIT
PAUSE 250
LOOP
GOTO Acquire

Acquire: 'Sub-program for hitime and lotime measurements
plscnt=0
DO WHILE (plscnt<5)
PULSIN 0, 1, hitime(plscnt)
PULSIN 2, 0, lotime(plscnt)
plscnt=plscnt+1
LOOP
GOTO Calculate