Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
tokenizer.so for x86_64 — Parallax Forums

tokenizer.so for x86_64

bjaneskobjanesko Posts: 2
edited 2011-08-21 08:45 in BASIC Stamp
Hello. I am new to the BASIC Stamp. I'm attempting to run the bstamp tools on an x86_64 Linux box. Both bstamp, and the example program provided by Parallax with the "BASIC Stamp Tokenizer", give error message

./tokenizer.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32: Success

First, I assume that this is because tokenizer.so is compiled for i386 32-bit architecture. Is this correct? Second, is there anything that I can do to fix this, short of "run it on a different computer"?

Comments

• chaugen1chaugen1 Posts: 6
    edited 2011-08-19 14:36
    I am having the same problem here. Example "Stampapp" compiles just fine, but just run into problems while trying to run it.

bjanesko, any news on your end? figure anything out?

maybe if we could get the source code and compile it ourselves on a 64-bit OS

Also, any way to reverse engineer the windows tokenizer.dll (and re-compile it in linux) seems to work on 64-bit windows just fine?
  • TorTor Posts: 2,010
    edited 2011-08-20 03:43
    What Linux distros are you both using? Many x86_64/amd64 Linux distros also provide a 32-bit environment. On my Debian amd64 distro, for example, I install a standard package called 'ia32-libs' and all 32-bit applications (including those I use with my propeller) run without problems. Other distros will often have some similar option available for their 64-bit varieties.

-Tor
    edited 2011-08-20 15:40
    I am currently running Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal, just because I wanted to try it out. I do plan on dual-booting with 10.04 soon so I will keep you posted on if it happens on that too.

As far as the ia32-libs, I double checked and sure enough it is already installed. I ran the sample program again and it failed when calling the tokenizer with the same ELFCLASS32 problem.